833-PET-HERO(833-738-4376)
Image: PetCure Oncology

Pet Parent Stories

Nothing makes us happier than to hear pet owner cancer care stories with PetCure Oncology. Please use the form at the bottom of this page if you would like to share your story with us. We’d love to hear from you and your story may be featured on this website.

Read More Pet Hero Stories    Share Your Pet Story With Us

Image: Jason B

Angel

Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at Lakeshore (Milwaukee, WI)

My 7-year old blue pitbull Angel. Baby girl got diagnosed with nasal sinus carcinoma which devastated my wife & I. I found PetCure & decided to fight this disease all the way. Angel received stereotactic radiation treatments & she is now on Palladia. Her tumor was so big. After treatments, it shrunk down significantly better than anyone's expectations. Angel is doing amazing. She eats, drinks, & plays every day.

I know I made the right decision getting her treatment. Dr. Rivera, Dr. Meleo & entire staff at PetCure Oncology were amazing, so very compassionate & treated Angel like gold! I pray everyday that her cancer will go into complete remission with the help of radiation, palladia, & God’s healing powers. Angel is my wife & I's whole world, I would do anything to help & save her. Angel is a tuff pitbull, & will defy all odds against her. I will never give up & continue to fight this nasty disease with my baby.

— Jason B from Woodstock, IL
Image: Noelle B.

Bella

Infiltrative Lipoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

I cannot say enough about PetCure Oncology. Making decisions about who to trust with your baby’s treatment based off a gut feeling is daunting but I couldn’t have made a better decision. They made an unimaginably difficult situation almost pleasant. Bella is NOT an easy dog. She is independent and strong-willed. You have to earn her trust. Everyone at PetCure treated her like she was their own dog.

Her CT scan was the most well-explained CT scan I have ever seen. Everyone who works here is patient, thorough, and caring. They go above and beyond in ever way. I can’t say enough about PetCure; knowing what I know now I would travel as far as I needed to to get to PetCure.

Everyone went above and beyond but [veterinary technician] Sam won Bella over. She was kind, patient, and loving. We love Sam!!

— Noelle B. from North Brunswick, NJ
Image: Gina T.

Lita

Osteosarcoma
PetCure Oncology at PVSEC (Pittsburgh, PA)

Lita’s osteosarcoma diagnosis was a devastating shock for us. When we decided on radiation as part of her treatment, the PVSEC staff was there to answer all of our questions in an honest yet empathetic way. Not being able to see the doctors/staff in person [due to COVID-19] during Lita’s visits made us nervous at first but we were quickly put at ease by how friendly, knowledgeable and professional the staff was. The PVSEC team was so attentive to our girl and thorough with us during our phone/video visits.

Lita had her palliative radiation treatments about 3 weeks ago now and is doing great adjusting to her ‘new normal’! There are times we have to actually make her slow down now! While we have accepted that her improvement is likely short lived, Lita is a fighter and our fingers are crossed that she exceeds expectations and is referred for another round of palliative radiation. In the meantime, it makes our hearts so full to see our sweet, happy girl living life her way - as she always has! Thank you for your excellent care and all that you do at PVSEC, we are forever grateful!!

— Gina T. from Trafford, PA
Image: Pam C.

Cooper

Oral Melanoma
PetCure Oncology at PVSEC (Pittsburgh, PA)

[Our] experience with every provider and staff member was exceptional. Very personalized care by all. Everyone knew all about Cooper and the communication among departments was outstanding. I felt very comfortable leaving Cooper in your hands even though I could not come in with him due to Covid.

Dr. Dauphin, Dr. Pohlmann, and Dr. Payne were all involved in Cooper’s care and kept me well informed throughout his treatment. I am a retired RN and have always had very high standards when it comes to healthcare. My expectations were exceeded every step of the way! Thank you for all you do and the difference you make in so many lives of pets and their people.

— Pam C. from Horner, WV
Image: Marla F.

Ellie

Nasal Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

The entire team, from the front desk to the doctors, took such great care of both Ellie and myself. A stressful and sad time for me was absolutely the best it could be, due to the care we both received at AVO in Gilbert, AZ.

Melanie, Taylor, Jenn! Truly, everyone who cared for us was wonderful. Dr. Boshoven gave the impression that Ellie was his only patient, that he had all the time in the world to explain things to me and love and care for Ellie.

— Marla F. from Phoenix, AZ
Image: Elizabeth S.

Brady

Nasal/Sinus Tumor
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

Everything was excellent. Everyone was so kind and compassionate, I can't say how amazing that is and how much we needed that. Finally, loved the card and the little gift bag at the end. It was unexpected and a great touch that obviously didn't have to be done but showed the team cared and understood the magnitude of the situation and the $$ being spent.

Dr. Pohlmann was amazing, both in our virtual meeting as well as in the recorded review of Brady's scans. She was direct, easy to understand, compassionate, and made us feel at ease. We understood our options and possible implications. Dr. Wolfe remembered the little details I gave her about Brady, enough to put it in the card, and that is awesome :). [Client liaison] JoAnna is so sweet and nice, she sounds so happy to have us and it was a pleasure to interact with everyone.

— Elizabeth S. from PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)
Image: Shanique J.

Moxie

Nasal Adenocarcinoma
PetCure Oncology at Lakeshore (Milwaukee, WI)

Nothing could've been better. Such a great team of people to help us through a rough time in our dog's life. The practice came highly recommended from both our primary vet and the specialist that did the biopsy. I thought surely they were exaggerating but it really was a good experience, all things considered. My dog has been doing well and I'm hopeful it'll help extend her life.

As a side note, I did like how preferred gender was on name tags. Self identity and equality matters. I like knowing the people I entrusted with my dog's life care about animal rights as well as human rights.

I mostly spoke to [client liaison] Meredith who was awesome and made sure everything was sorted out with my insurance.

— Shanique J. from Bonduel, WI
Image: Samantha D.

Beamish

Pituitary Macroadenoma
PetCure Oncology at SAGE (San Jose, CA)

Dr. Quarterman and [radiation therapist] Gemma are FABULOUS! This was an extremely stressful time for me, and both of them were kind, patient, and understanding. Dr. Quarterman does a terrific job explaining the radiation options, answering questions about all of the protocols, and supporting the clients when a decision has been made. She was never once dismissive of my questions and concerns, which is HUGE for me, because I ask a LOT of questions! In addition, she has a calm demeanor and helped me regroup during a couple of particularly stressful days, and I will always appreciate that. Gemma is also wonderful. She is prompt in replying to emails, answers all of my questions, and was pleasant to work with. It was reassuring to know she handled every one of my dog's treatments, and I knew he was in good hands. She was a true lifeline for me. Since I couldn't go in the clinic with my dog, it was wonderful that I could email Gemma and be in direct contact with the people who were treating my dog.

The entire radiation team at Sage in Campbell is terrific. I know they are not all PetCure employees, but they all deserve my thanks and appreciation. [Veterinary technicians] Leandra, Krissy and Danielle took excellent care of my dog. Leandra gets special kudos for her daily 'sign-in' phone calls which helped establish a routine and put me at ease during the four weeks / 5 days a week treatment plan. I already raved about Dr. Quarterman and Gemma in the previous question, and I feel fortunate to have been referred to Dr. Quarterman for Beamish's treatment. She is obviously excellent at her job, and I am confident we followed the right protocol for Beamish. The team should be very proud of their work and how they care for their clients.

— Samantha D. from Placerville, CA
Image: Anna P.

Dolly

Nasal Chondrosarcoma
PetCure Oncology at SEVO-Med (Jacksonville, FL)

We are so thankful for SEVO Med! From the moment I first contacted them, they were compassionate, kind, and prompt. Dr. LaDue took the time to explain everything to us and provide us with the best education for my Dolly. I know that she was in the best care!

Nurses Nanette and Haley and Marsha! All were incredible and very knowledgeable. Dr. LaDue was an angel and we are so thankful to her. Also, the sweet women at the front desk including Taylor.

— Anna P. from Celebration, FL
Image: Marilynn F.

Buddy

Sarcoma
PetCure Oncology at SEVO-Med (Jacksonville, FL)

Buddy had a diagnosis of sarcoma and an epulis and was treated with surgery and radiation about one year ago. Dr. LaDue and her staff have always been available to us during this year as Buddy has had recurring issues. Buddy was examined and had a CT Scan last week and various tests because of difficulties with his nasal passages and a skin irritation. We are pleased with the support and professional and caring way in which he is treated. He is an old dog and we are grateful for all they are doing for him.

[Radiation therapist] Nanette has been available for us during this past year on email and on the phone when issues have arisen and passed the information from Dr. LaDue to us during that time. They have also arranged to have medications delivered to us while we were at our home in Maryland when Buddy had problems. With the Coronavirus precautions in place after we arrived there we were not able to travel back to our home here in Florida and bring Buddy in for a visit. They were most understanding and made certain meds could be sent to us in Maryland. During this visit last week, [veterinary technician] Marsha was very helpful and we are grateful to her for her assistance. And, of course, Dr. LaDue is without exception, the best doctor we could have for our Buddy. She was recommended by our vet who knew her from N.C. State University when both of them were there.

— Marilynn F. from Zephyrhills, FL
Image: Julia & Ed Z.

Tyson

Squamous Cell Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at SLVS (Houston, TX)

In a situation where I was very emotional and scattered, I was able to deliver Tyson into the hands of professionals that I felt did their best to provide state of the art services. The feeling of confidence that the staff inspired was very helpful in keeping me calm and optimistic. Communication was clear and concise.

[Radiation therapist] Marissa and [veterinary technician] Sam went above and beyond my expectations. They were both extremely professional, yet were personable and, most importantly, kind and compassionate. I also felt very reassured that Tyson was receiving the appropriate treatment after speaking with Dr Wilcox.

— Julia & Ed Z. from Bellaire, TX
Image: Margaret D.

Olive

Osteosarcoma (bone cancer)
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

My experience with PetCure in Clifton was absolutely wonderful. It's a scary thing for both my cat and myself to be faced with, but both of us were made to feel very comfortable with every visit. Olive's team, as I called them, were the most incredible, knowledgeable and caring group of professionals. After her final treatment they all came out with her to wish her well and send us off. Totally touched my heart. I completely felt like I had made the best choice for Olive by the end of her 3 treatments.

Honestly, I need to compliment them all!!! The first person that stands out to me is Joanna!. She was so caring from my first phone call to our last goodbye. Dr. J. Wolfe spend a good deal of time talking me thru it all and her compassion to Olive made it easy to leave my girl in her hands. Joanna, Sam and Jess all loved learning about Olive's little world at home and that is special to me. Also Shivani along with Joanna handled all my email questions. If I missed anyone, its not intentional because every person i dealt with was a joy to talk to.

— Margaret D. from North Arlington, NJ
Image: Ben G.

Kegel

Nasal Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at SAGE (San Jose, CA)

My dog Kegel had cancer and now he doesn't. You saved his life and now he can breathe again.

I am amazed by what you were able to do. It was expensive but worth the cost for our dog. Everyone was great.

— Ben G. from Boulder Creek, CA
Image: Anne H.

Bandit

Heart-Based Tumor
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

Our experience at AVO has been really great. Dr. Boshoven is wonderful, and the staff (technicians, front desk, etc.) have been great as well. Everyone has been very helpful and compassionate.

— Anne H. from Mesa, AZ
Image: James and Kristin Cleary

Charlie

Brain Tumor
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

My husband and I would like to thank the team at PetCure for helping our French Bulldog, Charlie with his brain tumor! The entire staff was attentive to his needs and made sure that he was taken care of before, during and after his treatments. In March when we found out that Charlie unexpectedly had a tumor, it was a very difficult time for all of us, but as soon as we started working with PetCure, we knew that Charlie was in good hands.

Any time we had a question outside of our in-person visits, the team always contacted us to make sure we got the answers we needed. In fact, Dr. Wolfe also sent an email to check in on Charlie to make sure he was doing well and offered her support whenever we needed it, even if it was after work hours – it was a very sweet gesture that meant a lot to us.

We really appreciate everything that PetCure has done for Charlie and we’re extremely happy that we were able to work with such a great team! Thank you again, PetCure!

— James and Kristin Cleary from Forest Hills, NY
Image: Rosanna Piazza

Ava

Anal Sac Adenocarcinoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

After being diagnosed with adenocarcinoma, our oncologist recommended stereotactic radiosurgery at PetCure Oncology at VRIC. The facility is located more than 2 hours from where we live on the east end of Long Island, but soon after arriving, we realized that bringing Ava (our 9 year old boxer) here was the best decision we could have made.

Dr. Pohlmann, an outstanding radiation oncologist, quickly made us feel we were in the right hands after giving an extremely thorough evaluation of Ava’s CT, explaining everything from her scan through treatment and expectations during recovery.

Shivani Narayanan, radiation therapist extraordinaire, provided us with a very detailed explanation of the entire treatment process, methodically describing each step so we could understand how the cancer cells would be targeted.

JoAnna at reception had a genuine and warm welcome for us every time we arrived for our appointment, and Sam & Luz delivered Ava safely back to us with a smile and encouragement after each session. All this happened under the attentive watch and compassionate care of Dr. Wolfe.

We’re truly grateful to the team at VRIC for their superior expertise and sincere concern for Ava’s health—they’re a group of exceptional veterinary professionals!

— Rosanna Piazza from Calverton, NY
Image: Michelle Mattioli

Shoc

Adenocarcinoma
PetCure Oncology at PVSEC (Pittsburgh, PA)

SHOC is a hero and survivor! I was told [he had] 3 days to weeks and now we are at 4 months and going strong after palliative radiation... and chemo with some holistic care. I am blessed we did this! He acts like he is 5 again and so comfortable. They were so compassionate and Shoc loved going to see them. I would highly advise this. Shoc never had any side effects at all.

Today, I got word that his lymph nodes and tumor have shrunk since treatment! Rock On SHOC ! Forever grateful to PetCure!!!!

— Michelle Mattioli from Cheswick, PA
Image: Rachel Georgia

Bruce

Nasal Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

I cannot say enough about PetCure Oncology. They got us a rush appointment when other facilities were making us wait weeks. They understood the seriousness of our situation, calmed us down, and provided real-time solutions. PetCure Oncology has given us the one thing that we could not give Bruce, which is more time.

Honestly- the ENTIRE STAFF was wonderful. Every single person greeted us and Bruce every morning and congratulated him when he finished treatment. This facility understood the severity of a bad situation and did everything in their power to make it better for us and for Bruce.

— Rachel Georgia from Hoboken, NJ
Image: Mark S.

Tag

Brain Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

In September 2016, our 15-year old Italian Greyhound "Tag" had a massive seizure that almost ended his life had it not been for our local pet emergency clinic. Upon a CT scan, our vet specialist identified a small brain tumor and estimated Tag had 6-weeks to live without treatment.

We were given a few options for surgery, but they were entirely too evasive. She mentioned Petcure Oncology in Cincinnati, OH as an option, so we decided to investigate further. After a few phone calls to the clinic, we decided to move forward with the procedure.

Tag completed the third treatment on Sept 29, 2016 and was discharged. On December 3, 2017 Tag achieved his 16th birthday which would have not been possible without Petcure Oncology.

He is still going strong over a year later after the procedure and are confident that his life has been extended.

Throughout the entire process, the staff was extremely professional and always took the time to keep us informed of the status. We are grateful for this clinic and their expertise. Would definitely use them again. Thanks again.

— Mark S. from College Grove, TN

Read Pet Hero Sydney's story

Image: Janice Wegrzynowski

Nikko

Nasal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at PVSEC (Pittsburgh, PA)

How do I begin to express my gratitude to PetCure and their awesome staff in Pittsburgh!?

When our 9 1/2 yr old golden retriever Nikko was diagnosed with a nasal cancer tumor, I immediately started searching online for more information regarding his horrible disease. It’s unbelievable because one of the first sites I came across was a video on stereotactic radiation and nasal tumors! After more research I knew this was going to be our first choice for treatment as long as Nikko was a candidate,

I am happy to report that 3 months after his SRS treatment, Nikko’s tumor has shrunk significantly! Yay Nikko! Every extra day with him is a gift and a blessing and we look forward to the additional time we have to spend with him. Thank you PetCure! Can’t wait to update this review in another 6-12 months!

— Janice Wegrzynowski from Grand Island, NY

Read Pet Hero Sydney's story

Image: Roy Teng

Sydney

Spinal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

PetCure Oncology’s extensive knowledge and sense of urgency to help were what impressed me the most. We went from grieving to hopeful.

When we felt like all hope was gone, we were given an option we thought we never had. PetCure gave us hope when no one else would.

— Roy Teng from Richmond, IN

Read Pet Hero Sydney's story

Image: Paul Ferretti

Gus

Brain Tumor (Glioma)
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

When we were faced with a heartbreaking cancer diagnosis, there was only one place our oncologist felt comfortable sending us. The wonderful people at PetCure were there for us every single step of the way. From the initial phone consultation, to scans & diagnostics, to the cutting edge SRS therapy, they treated us like family.

I am so grateful for the generous amounts of support, patience, and compassion they provided during this stressful time. It truly made all the difference in the world.

— Paul Ferretti from Stanford, CT

Read Pet Hero Karma's story

Image: Kristina Khosla

Elphie

Brain Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

We found our angel on earth, Elphie, in 2015 under a car. When we found out shortly after that she had a brain tumor we were destroyed and so lost. We heard about PetCure [but] had no idea how INCREDIBLE the staff and doctors were going to be.

We traveled from Cleveland not knowing what to expect. They took amazing care not only of our beloved cat, but of us as well (and our dog Rollie we brought along)! They made us so comfortable and feel so welcomed. They went above and BEYOND what they needed to and exceeded our expectations greatly. We could not be more grateful. Our gratitude cannot be put into words. The doctors were incredibly competent and the staff is loving and knowledgeable. They were so generous and kind. I cannot speak highly enough about them. I have never seen such veterinary intelligence. Each doctor or staff member we met was qualified to say the very least. They took care of her like she was their own and comforted us like we were family.

[PetCure Oncology at] Care Center gave us more time with our Elphie, time I would never have had. She almost immediately showed signs that the radiation had worked! The following week she was sitting in the sunlight streaming through the window, seemingly able to see much better. She was better. I must have called a million times and asked even more questions than that. Never once was it an issue and I was always treated with such kindness and empathy. For such an awful situation, our hearts shockingly felt so full from these incredible people.

I am so thankful for my extra time with my best friend and I am thankful for the people we met who will ALWAYS hold a place in our hearts. Their kindness and generosity will never be forgotten. I would recommend PetCure at Care Center insistently to anyone unfortunately caring for an animal battling cancer, or just as an all-around incredible hospital with even more incredible people. We love you all and THANK YOU!

— Kristina Khosla from Cleveland, OH

Read Pet Hero Karma's story

Image: Elizabeth Schobert

Karma

Nasal Sarcoma
PetCure Oncology at Lakeshore (Milwaukee, WI)

We felt that we had a good chance of giving her more quality time. The doctors said that the results [could] be 18 months [of additional life]. That's about the rest of her life. If we could offer her this time - [with] quality of life - we were going to do that for her. If I'm going to give my daughter surgery on her knee, I'm going to give Karma radiation therapy. She's part of the family.

— Elizabeth Schobert from Greenfield, WI

Read Pet Hero Karma's story

Image: Marty Habas (and grandson Tommy)

Brownie

Soft Tissue Sarcoma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

Brownie is a four year old chocolate lab mix who had small cell sarcoma............ a tumor the size of a baseball on his left shoulder, not yet touching the lungs but pressing against the ribs. When he first went to his regular vet in Oct. 2016, he was given 6 months without treatment due to the fast growing cancer. He went to PetCure Oncology in Cincinnati in Nov. 2016 for treatment. His checkup in Feb. 2017 saw a 50% reduction in tumor size and in May 2017 he went to the PetCure Oncology in Pittsburgh (closer to home and great too) and the tumor was reduced another 20%. He will eventually have it removed surgically. His quality of life is wonderful and he and his boy love to take long walks, play fetch, and sleep in Tom's room at night. Brownie's family cannot thank you enough!

[I am his grandma (Marty Habas) who submitted it for him. He is 13. He deeply loves the dog and the dog is wonderful just like all your staff who are really nice and super talented.]

— Marty Habas (and grandson Tommy) from Akron, OH

Read Pet Hero Cass's story

Image: Karen S.

Sonny

Brain Tumor (Meningioma)
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

My experience was beyond my expectations from the very beginning. From Dr. Pohlmann, to Kelli and Kevin who were a part of the team, to your front desk, everything was so positive and caring. Two weeks ago when Sonny had his first seizure I was a wreck. From [another specialty practice] to eventually choosing PetCure Oncology, I felt comfortable and trusting of your care plan for Sonny.

13 years ago my Dad died of kidney cancer and at that time there were no SRS machines to help him in Louisville or nearby. No one in the radiation dept knew what I was talking about. When I googled SRS when Sonny needed radiation, how excited and grateful I was to find it in Cincinnati! My 13 year old dog, "Sonny," is named after my Dad. I feel honored to have him at the Care Center to get the treatment I so desperately sought for my Dad years ago.

A heartfelt thanks to all of you. The front desk, AMAZING! They always were there to help with my grandkids. One receptionist even colored with them. And Kelli, Sonny's radiation tech, the best of the best! Her enthusiasm is contagious. She walked me through everything in the vault where the SRS machine is and spent time explaining Sonny's care. And she gave endless hugs to me to make me feel everything would be ok! I won't ever forget her smile, her energy. She is a friend I won't forget. Dr Pohlmann, how lucky are we to have her! She helped me make the decision to choose PetCure over [another specialty practice's] traditional radiation treatment. I never looked back after the decision was made. It absolutely was the right one!

And now one day at a time, as I move forward with Sonny's long term care, I know PetCure Oncology and Care Center gave him a fighting chance to beat his cancer. Thank you for all the "pet hero's" out there that you have treated. I love your motto, "fighting cancer, targeting a cure," on Sonny's bandana that he wore on his last day of treatment. And thank you for "today" and everyday forward that Sonny is still able to be in my life.

— Karen S. from Edgewood, KY

Read Pet Hero Cass's story

Image: Tom Melita

Cass

Nasal Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

PetCure Oncology and the entire team helped save and extend Cass’s life. I’m completely convinced that PetCure and the SRS technology is the right decision for those that want the very best treatment for their companions. I knew Cass was in great hands and felt extremely comfortable that he was going to be well attended to with this treatment journey. The treatment and recovery were seamless, a cakewalk, and before I knew it, he graduated on Friday as a Pet Hero! Compared to where he was, it’s a miracle.

— Tom Melita from Superior Township, MI

Read Pet Hero Cass's story

Image: Deborah Rhea

Marley

Hemangiopericytoma
PetCure Oncology at PVSEC (Pittsburgh, PA)

Marley is our precious 10 year old English Springer Spaniel rescue dog - known for her affectionate disposition and CRAZY antics! She was diagnosed with hemangiopericytoma after aspiration of what we thought was another pesky sebaceous cyst or lipoma. Lab samples showed the presence of spindle cells, so the tumor was removed; however, the margins were "dirty." To give Marley the greatest chance of living out the rest of her years with us, we opted for 18 Intensity Modulated Radiation Therapy treatments at Pittsburgh Veterinary Specialty & Emergency Center.

The staff at PVSEC was beyond amazing. In no time at all, Brandy, Sue and Dr. Anderson felt like family - not just to Marley, but to us as well. Their attentiveness, patience, kindness, compassion, and thoughtfulness shone through in everything they said and did. We even received a personalized, hand-crafted card in the mail just a few days after Marley completed her treatments. It blew us away!

Our hope and prayer is that Marley's cancer will not rear its ugly head again before she passes on of natural, age-related causes. If it makes a return, we wouldn't hesitate for a second to seek the help and services of PVSEC again. Either way, we look forward to keeping in touch with the staff we've grown attached to and to seeing them again for joyous reunions... er, regular followup appointments.

— Deborah Rhea from Murrysville, PA

Read Pet Hero Gizmo's story

Image: Karen Dickson

Rufus

Osteosarcoma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

Thanks so much for calling today and checking up on Rufus. I want you to use his story, pictures, anything I send that might give hope to others that were in my situation 1.5 years ago. Since being treated in Sept. of 2015, Rufus has enjoyed 1.5 more years of quality time on this earth with his family, and I think he would tell you he's grateful for the bonus time as well. He gets around on his own steam and enjoys sitting in the sun eating ice cream, rolling around in the grass and playing with his brothers and sisters.

He's almost 12.5 years old now, which is pretty much a miracle given the fact he's a large breed dog diagnosed with osteosarcoma. I know this miracle wouldn't have happened if not for you folks in Cincinnati, Dr. Mauldin, and the great follow up care with Dr's. Brown and Campbell here in Louisville.

I'm so thankful we had the treatment at PetCure Oncology and I wish more people knew of the lifesaving treatment you're doing there. I will continue to do my part by sharing Rufus's story and hope you will do the same.

— Karen Dickson from Louisville, KY

Read Pet Hero Gizmo's story

Image: Martha Kuhns

Gizmo

Thyroid Carcinoma & Adrenal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

For the two weeks before we went to Cincinnati, I cried... He wanted to play, but all I could do was cry. This puppy is my oxygen. When I found out about his diagnosis, I just burned up the Internet looking for information. From stem cell research to stereotactic radiation to regular radiation to surgery and more.

When I read about PetCure Oncology, I felt hope. And it kept me from crying 24/7.

Now, he acts like nothing is wrong with him. He jumps on me, wants to go out and play. He’s like he was 12 years ago when I got him.

SEE ALSO: Adrenal Tumors In Dogs

— Martha Kuhns from Springdale, PA

Read Pet Hero Gizmo's story

Image: Cindy and John Jagielski

Beau

Brain Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

[A brain tumor] was a devastating thing to have to face. He was only five and a robust dog. Being on phenobarbital (medication given to help control seizures) made him act like a zombie. He wanted to be alone, hiding in the house. It was upsetting. The neurologist said it was inoperable and without treatment and he had three months to live. We felt paralyzed all through that time. Dogs are members of our family. We wanted this dog to have whatever chance we could give him.

It was like one big happy family [at PetCure Oncology at Care Center]. We really thought that we would be either in our hotel room or nursing Beau after his treatments, not doing anything else. But the people there were absolutely wonderful. We trusted them. We felt comfortable enough that when we left Beau with them to receive treatment, we were able to go around Cincinnati to take in the sights.

I will never regret making this decision. PetCure and Care Center treated us like family.

— Cindy and John Jagielski from Pittsburgh, PA

Read Pet Hero Beau's story

Image: Cheryl Harper

Cooper

Nasal Adenocarcinoma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

It was all about quality of life. We didn’t want to put him through something miserable and have him thinking, ‘What have they done to me?’ That was the most important thing to us. Some of the side effects of conventional radiation you hear about are scary. We didn’t want blisters in his mouth, or any risk that he would go blind or deaf. Because then, the quality of life is gone. When the doctor described the stereotactic radiosurgery option, we were really interested. We asked a lot of questions—about accuracy, quality of life, and symptoms. It seemed like the best choice.

My dog doesn’t look any different. No burns, no shaved face. He’s perky again and doing the normal things he does—following us around the house and running around outside. He is just an awesome dog! We love him to pieces.

— Cheryl Harper from Zionsville, IN

Read Pet Hero Cooper's story

Image: Leona Fontaine

Dylan

Osteosarcoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

I think it’s a miracle. Without SRS, he wouldn’t have gotten better. I knew I had to do something. For a 6-year-old cat that I thought I was going to lose, I’m so thrilled. It’s really a miracle. If you were to meet Dylan today, you wouldn’t know anything had been wrong with him. He’s running around, playing with the other kittens, and eating like crazy. I know I sound like a broken record, but it really is a miracle!

— Leona Fontaine from Chestnut Ridge, NY

Read Pet Hero Dylan's story

Image: Bonnie & Ken Easterly

Briley

Nasal Mast Cell Tumor
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

Briley had two slow-growing benign growths in the same spot, which were surgically removed. After the second surgery, the tumor grew back quickly and got big very fast. We could see that Briley didn’t feel well as she was lethargic and losing weight.

After SRS radiation, we could tell she felt better as she started to follow me everywhere, run to the window to bark, and be as happy as can be. It is great to see her that way again. We’re pleased with the radiation, because it seems like this treatment really did shrink that tumor amazingly quick!!

— Bonnie & Ken Easterly from Chandler, AZ

Read Pet Hero Grandma's story

Image: Dr. Connie Anderson

Grandma

Squamous Cell Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

Experience was awesome. It really was. Dr. Boshoven felt like he really cared and everyone else too. Rudy and all of the techs were awesome. It seemed like they really cared and were so knowledgeable. They knew what they are doing with the machines. Wish I could have some of their techs! I saw them working with other animals and everyone from the receptionist to the team in the back are great. They say you can’t buy time, but I did. I bought time with her.

— Dr. Connie Anderson from Queen Creek, AZ

Read Pet Hero Grandma's story

Image: Scott Phillips

Brutus

Spinal Meningioma
PetCure Oncology at Lakeshore (Milwaukee, WI)

I would like the world to know how much my wife and I appreciate the expert professional attention and loving care this team put forth to help us cope and care for our son. Words can and will never express the gratitude we feel and the respect we have for all these individuals who helped Brutus through this difficult time. From the start JoAnn was an Angel talking us through each step, even while at a wedding she took our phone call. JoAnn we owe you. Amy the radiation therapist with so much heart and compassion. We thank you, and if you ever need a Stan's Donut fix let us know. Dr. Mauldin mapping the treatment out, talking us through the procedure and making this entire treatment seem like a walk in the park...

This is the "A" Team. I promise whoever reads this if you ever need medical attention for a family member with four legs this is the best place in the United States to be. Amy thank you for your compassion. Please send out a special thanks to Joyce for her thoughtful wishes and conversation. Also than you Amy the Client Care Liaison for your funny stories and for keeping us informed and company while our son was having his procedure. Thanks again to all involved.

— Scott Phillips from Chicago, IL

Read Pet Hero Sissy's story

Image: Jessica Northey

Sissy

Thyroid Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

It's Sissy's last day of cancer treatment (3 of 3 days in a row). The tumor has already decreased from the size of a large gumball out of a Quarter machine to about a peanut M&M. What a miracle stereotactic radiosurgery is. The side effects have been minimal so far. I want to give a big shout to the staff at Arizona Veterinary Oncology. Their staff from front to back made me feel in incredible hands. Dr Eric Boshoven is great at making u feel at ease and explaining the process to not leave you guessing or frustrated. Communication has been the key for every step.

— Jessica Northey from Tucson, AZ

Read Pet Hero Sissy's story

Image: Don Scegiel

Sam

Nasal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

Sam is on his way to get his orthoscope diagnosis in Mexico City. He is originally from Mesa, Arizona and has lived the last 3 years in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. He started snoring louder and sneezing more often. When he started bleeding from sneezing we looked into follow-up with vets here in Cabo. No vet in the whole Baja, Mexico had an orthoscope to see what an X-ray could not identify.

We flew him to Mexico City to find out he had a massive growing tumor. The only treatment for him at 8 yrs old was radiosurgery. The vet in Mexico City recommended Arizona Veterinary Oncology because it was one of four in the USA that had this treatment. So when he returned from Mexico City we flew to San Diego through Alaska Airlines, which was the only one that flew dogs of this size. I didn't want to change to another plane and put him through more trauma so I rented a Nissan Versa hatchback which held the large kennel and all of our stuff. $100 for car and gas to get us to Phoenix. Our first treatment was yesterday and no issues. He actually started breathing a little more easily through his nose later last night. Today is second treatment. After speaking to a few pet owners there with their pets I feel much better about my decision to do this.

Now I am more hopeful about him living longer and having the option to treat again if the tumor returns again. The side effects are minimal without notice. This is a common tumor for dogs and the SRS radiotherapy has been used in humans for some time. This clinic has one of the first like this which is also a great deal of thanks to vet Eric Boshoven. Thanks so much!

— Don Scegiel from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Read Pet Hero Sam's story

Image: Kelsey Westbrook

Sunny

Fibrosarcoma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

PetCure Oncology's Cincinnati location was nothing but sheer kindness, knowledge, and the perfect blend of love and professionalism while my dog, Sunny, received Stereotactic Radiosurgery in February. Kelli Sloane, the radiation therapist, has in particular been integral in helping us get through this process. She takes my calls at any moment, answers questions, coordinates with Dr. Mauldin -- who gets back with her in a matter of moments. I can't imagine having to face my dog's cancer with any other group of humans.

I would encourage ANYONE facing canine or feline cancer to explore PetCure Oncology as an option -- particularly SRS -- and don't give up! PetCure will give you all the options possible and speak openly about what they feel they can achieve with their state-of-the-art technology and expertise. Thank you all so much for all you have done for Sunny.

— Kelsey Westbrook from Louisville, KY

Read Pet Hero Sunny's story

Image: Toni Eggleton

Samantha

Meningioma
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

Everyone was so wonderful. They all really cared. They wanted to do the very best thing for Samantha. [Radiation therapist] Kelli Sloane is just a lovely person. She explained everything about how the procedure would work and she was very caring. Kelli Sloane was so wonderful. She called me within a day or so after taking Samantha home. She called several months later. She called a year later because it was anniversary. All the doctors were wonderful!

— Toni Eggleton from Indianapolis, IN

Read Pet Hero Samantha's story

Image: Liz McKnight

Attu

Plasmacytoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

The staff at Petcure made a very tough situation much better for me and my special cat, Attu. Everyone took the time to explain what was going to happen and the techs always took the time to tell me how he did. They told me that he was a pleasure to work with and I could tell they were sincere. The place is very comfortable and I always felt like he was in good hands.

Being a vet tech myself, it was hard to turn him over to go to "the back" without me, but Dr. Simko and Mike Jones and everyone else I talked to made me feel at ease. I am so glad that this treatment existed for him. It has only been a short time but I swear he is feeling better already. I am glad that Petcure is there and able to help so many special pets!

— Liz McKnight from New Jersey
Image: Greg and Robin Voth

Lucky

Nasal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

Hearing that our cocker spaniel, Lucky, has nasal cancer, was the blow of all blows. We spent the holiday season with the wind knocked out of ourselves. Frantically searching the area for an affordable CT scan and discovering PetCure’s Clifton, NJ location so close to home was nothing short of divine intervention. Who knew making a 'cold call' could bring such hope? We know, without a doubt, that Lucky was in the best hands during his sessions there.

A month and a half in, Lucky’s improving every day. He’s a young 12 year old boy (almost 13) so seeing him gaining weight and continue to be his happy self has been a blessing. He’s gone through a lot but you wouldn’t know it by his joyful demeanor. Robin and I just want to reach out to everyone at PetCure and thank each of you for your professional expertise and compassion. The care, concern and respect you showed our boy did not go unnoticed.

— Greg and Robin Voth from Jersey City, NJ

Read Pet Hero Liza's story

Image: Dave Schmidt

Gus

Nasal Tumor
PetCure Oncology at Care Center (Cincinnati, OH)

Here is Gus, one year after his treatment. Looking good and doing well - his face has turned white but it makes him look more distinguished!! We are thankful for every day we have with him.

— Dave Schmidt from Cincinnati, OH

Read Pet Hero Liza's story

Image: Sylvia Bain

Liza

thyroid tumor
petcure oncology at care center (cincinnati, oh)

We are blessed every single day to have Liza with us and we have all of the PetCure Oncology and Care Center team in Cincinnati to thank. There will never be enough words to express our gratitude. Just keep doing what you are doing. It is making a difference. God bless all of you there and peace.

— Sylvia Bain from Monroeville, PA

Read Pet Hero Liza's story

Image: Heidi Vickery-Uechi

Cera

lymphosarcoma
petcure oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

Cera came through the radiation treatment with flying colors and has had no side effects from the chemo. And now, 6 months after treatment began, we were able to see on the follow-up CT Scan that the lymphoma is virtually gone! We were worried when we started this journey that our feisty girl wouldn't feel well during the treatment, and that it might somehow affect her quality of life. Nothing could be further from the truth! She has taken it all in stride and is just as bossy and opinionated as ever. We are so pleased that we could take advantage of this treatment option and help this amazing cat remain a part of our family for years to come.

— Heidi Vickery-Uechi from New Jersey
Image: Michael Castro

Maximus

Squamous Cell Carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at AVO (Phoenix, AZ)

We are so grateful to Dr. Boshoven and his staff for taking good care of Maximus during his Stereotactic Radiosurgery. We are proud to announce that Maximus graduated and is now ready to return to his home in New Mexico.

— Michael Castro from Los Ranchos, New Mexico

Read Pet Hero Snickers' story

Image: Charlie Faure

Kyra

Sarcoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

Giving a shout out to the team at PetCure Oncology for their care for our precious Kyra. These folks were all GREAT and made Kyra's treatment care so much more "pleasant" for all of us than it might have been. You guys rock!

— Charlie Faure from New Jersey

Read Pet Hero Snickers' story

Image: George Kostick

Snickers

oral squamous cell carcinoma
PetCure Oncology at VRIC (Clifton, NJ)

I am happy that you can share Snickers' story and his prognosis to others. Hopefully others will do the same for their beloved companions and best friends.

— George Kostick from New Jersey

Read Pet Hero Snickers' story

You have become a pet parent fill out this form to have your testimonial published on this website.

  • Max. file size: 25 MB.

More than 6,000 pet families have chosen PetCure Oncology for their dog or cat's cancer therapy. We give your pet a fighting chance to improve their quality of life. We understand. We commit. We will help.

BACK TO TOP